LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

General questions relating to the LSAT or LSAT preparation.
 Edwin E.
|
I have been studying for the lsat for several months, however, I have not been able to put in all of my effort to lsat studying because I'm inundated with school work. My question is: how suggestible would it be to postpone taking the December lsat, and instead taking the February test, so that I can dedicate the entire winter break to the lsat? My second question is: how much will this affect my chances of being accepted into a school for the fall 2013 year?
 Jon Denning
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Hey Edwin - thanks for the questions. Others may weigh in on this as well, but I wanted to give my thoughts in the meantime. I suppose the first thing I should say is that it's almost always advisable to not take the LSAT until you're consistently scoring at a level with which you're satisfied. So if that means waiting until February (or later) to take it, then generally that's the way to go.

Of course, as with most generalizations, there are exceptions. In this case the exceptions are almost all school-specific: how do the schools to which you're considering applying treat February's test? Every school is a little different--some schools don't accept it for that calendar year, some accept it but penalize you in their rolling admissions process, and some accept it without penalty--so your best bet is to contact schools individually and ask.

I say that leads to potential exceptions to the wait-til-you're-ready rule, since it might be preferable to you to apply in December with a slightly lower score than you'd prefer, as opposed to waiting an entire extra year if that school doesn't accept the Feb LSAT. But, again, it hinges on the school in question and their policies.