LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

General questions relating to the LSAT or LSAT preparation.
 dmanashirova
|
Hey,

My name is Dayana and I'm new to this forum. I just took a diagnostic LSAT and I scored a 146. On the Arguments sections I got a 10/25 and 13/25, on the Games section I got an 11/23, and on the Reading Comp I got a 19/27. I am wondering how good/bad these scores are since this is my first time taking the LSAT. In addition, what should I start studying first and what should my study plan be? Any help is appreciated. Thanks a ton in advance!

Sincerely,
Dayana Manashirova
 Jon Denning
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Hey Dayana - thanks for the questions. Figured I post a quick response, and others will likely add to it :)

I'd say a 146 to start is actually pretty typical, and indicative of where most people start (even a bit above average for a first test). Based on what you've told me I have two thoughts, both of which are really encouraging actually!: (1) first test scores aren't terribly indicative of much--be it legitimate areas of strength/weakness or potential improvement, or likely final score--so take it more as a learning experience and less as a predictor of what's to come, and (2) I'm really encouraged by where it seems your areas of greatest potential improvement lie. I know that probably sounds a little contradictory to my point (1) above, but what I mean is that people with initial strengths in RC, and difficulties elsewhere, tend to be people with the greatest potential for improvement! Games and LR are usually the places where test takers can make the most headway so your natural abilities suggest you've got an opportunity to make serious gains with the right strategies.