LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

General questions relating to the LSAT or LSAT preparation.
 d.vanlee
|
I took the June 2013 LSAT and scored in the 80th percentile, but I need to do better than that to be considered at the schools I am really interested in. I studied on my own last time, using the power score LG and LR Bibles and a book of LSAC prep tests.

I found that I was nearly always able to answer the LG questions if I had plenty of time, but I just couldn't get through them fast enough. I would like to increase my score by at least 5 points, hopefully more. What is my best course of action? My thought is to get a private tutor, but I'd love a second opinion.
 Nikki Siclunov
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Hi d.vanlee,

Thanks for your post! It sounds like you've improved your score quite a bit, but still struggle to complete the LG section in time. As you probably know, you can't work on your speed in isolation: pacing is almost always a function of accuracy and superior conceptual understanding of the material. The LG and LR bibles are a wonderful resource to lay the foundation of your LSAT test prep, but oftentimes students find that they need supplemental material to help them apply the techniques they learned in a more efficient manner.

Check out the LG Workbook, which includes 30 fully-explained logic games, along with numerous practice drills whose goal is to facilitate rule and set-up recognition (http://shop.powerscore.com/?action=prod ... 00O2WQCIA3). Also, you need more games to practice with. You didn't mention how many tests you took, but you certainly need more LG-specific practice. The Logic Games Question Type Training I and II provide question collections you might find useful, along with the Setup Encyclopedias (v. 1 - 3). All of these publications can be found here: http://www.powerscore.com/lsat/publications/.